SEGALL, TY – Whirlybird (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Regular price $22.00


Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Drag City grandly presents Whirlybird (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), featuring all-new music by Ty Segall, created for Matt Yoka’s compelling new documentary. Released to great acclaim in Summer 2021, Whirlybird tells the story of Zoey Tur and Marika Gerrard, former partners and founders of the Los Angeles News Service, and deftly tracks their extraordinary and often-reckless pursuit of breaking news throughout the 80s and 90s—a time in which they pioneered the use of a helicopter to report on Los Angeles at its most chaotic, capturing historical moments like the 1992 riots and the O.J. Simpson slow speed pursuit. Working off notes and feels from Matt and responding to the images and story on screen, Ty crafted some of his most creative arrangements to date, using synth, drum machine, Wurlitzer keyboard, guitars, drums and percussion (plus saxes played by Mikal Cronin, who also cowrote the title track with Ty) to articulate a multitude of tones running through the film. For a shape-shifter like Ty, this apex of tone color is no mean feat, an achievement further highlighted by the full set of pieces. Rather than simply throw a bunch of songs-with-singing at the project, Ty’s score perfectly epitomizes the film’s ethos, providing an instrumental counterpart that dialogues with and helps frame the film’s provocative themes and images.

A1 Whirlybird 2:43
A2 First Date 1:47
A3 Los Angeles News Service 2:38
A4 Getting the Story 2:28
A5 Sky Duo 2:48
A6 Lawrence Welk III 4:41
A7 First Pursuit 2:16
B1 1992 1:02
B2 High 1:35
B3 News Junkies 3:50
B4 Story of the Century 5:55
B5 Whirly Suite 2:02
B6 Last Flight 2:30