PRINCE – Welcome 2 America

Regular price $29.00


Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

"Welcome 2 America is the first posthumous Prince album to consist entirely of unreleased material, discovered by the late pop star’s archivist Michael Howe in the form of a fistful of CD-Rs with tracklists scrawled on their surfaces. As the title suggests, it’s a state-of-the-union concept album, with Prince’s opinions on taxes, technology, drugs, religion, and the music industry broadcast clearly and bluntly over taut power-trio backing by bassist Tal Wilkenfeld and drummer Chris Coleman. The 12-song set was recorded in 2010, and he had high enough hopes for it to name a tour after it. Then he shelved it for unknown reasons, most likely because Wilkenfeld couldn’t join the tour, making the album an obsolete representation of his live sound—though, given how consistently his performances outpaced his recorded work in the latter part of his career, it wouldn’t seem to matter much."

- Daniel Bromfield, Pitchfork

Welcome 2 America 5:23
Running Game (Son Of A Slave Master) 4:05
Born 2 Die 5:03
1000 Light Years From Here 5:46
Hot Summer 3:32
Stand Up And B Strong 5:18
Check The Record 3:28
Same Page, Different Book 4:41
When She Comes 4:46
1010 (Rin Tin Tin) 4:42
Yes 2:56
One Day We Will All B Free 4:4