MONTGOMERY, WES – The Incredible Jazz Guitar Of Wes Montgomery

Regular price $22.00


Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This 1960 record solidified Montgomery's reputation as the most important jazz guitarist to emerge since Charlie Christian in the 1930s. His two most-distinguishing traits---the mellow thumb-picking approach and the soft and round use of octaves--are in full bloom here. Montgomery tackles two standards, one tune each from Sonny Rollins and Dave Brubeck, plus four originals, including the classics "West Coast Blues" and "Four on Six." His solos are remarkably fluid and melodic while still capturing the essence of the blues idiom. He achieves a near-perfect balance of technique and emotion. On "Polka Dots and Moonbeams," his approach is unhurried and delicate; on the original "Mr. Walker," he produces lengthy, bop-inspired runs without ever losing control. Tommy Flanagan's gracefully understated piano proves a perfect match. Rather than compete with horn players and their styles, Montgomery relished the distinct and unique qualities of the guitar. --Marc Greilsamer

Airegin 4:24
D-Natural Blues 5:18
Polka Dots And Moonbeams 4:38
Four On Six 6:10
West Coast Blues 7:20
In Your Own Sweet Way 4:45
Mister Walker 4:28
Gone With The Wind 6:13