ABRASIVE WHEELS - When the Punks Go Marching In

Regular price $19.00


Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

"Leeds punk band Abrasive Wheels came to the attention of Bristol’s Riot City label when they played ablinding support set for Slaughter at the city’s Granary Club on 25 March 1980. Impressed still further by the band’s scorching self-released 1981 The ABW EP, Riot City duly snapped them up for the Vicious Circle EP, which made No 12 on the indie chart in February the following year. Clay Records supremo Mike Stone was then drafted in to produce the Burn ’Em Down single, a blistering chant-along classic that ranks along with the best of what we now term the UK82 sound.

Stone also helmed When The Punks Go Marching In, which again proved to be a wise choice. The satisfyingly full production (surely the envy of many contemporaries working withbigger budgets) did ample justice to highly impressive songs such as "BBC", the joyfully belligerent "Just Another Punk Band" and "First Rule (No Rule)", replete with Harry Harrison’s neat Slaughter & The
Dogs-style bass runs. The titletrack sounds a little laboured these days, but that’s the only downside." 

- Shane Baldwin, Record Collector Magazine

A1 Vicious Circle
A2 1982
A3 Danger, Danger
A5 Mayday
A6 Voice Of Youth
A7 Just Another Punk Band
B1 Gotta Run
B2 Burn 'Em Down
B3 Shout It Out
B4 Slaughterhouse
B5 First Rule (No Rule)
B6 Attack
B7 When The Punks Go Marching In