ADICTS - Songs of Praise

Regular price $19.00


Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

"With this outrageous aesthetic in place, The Adicts hit the indie charts in a puff of white smoke and released their debut album Songs of Praise in 1981. At that time the punk scene was becoming increasingly austere with regards to its lyrical content. Bands like Discharge and Crass were fervently serious with their politics, leaving little room for satirical, subtle or funny lyrics. Songs of Praise doesn’t conform to punk’s established reputation as the angry music of anarchy, a decision by the band which is in itself anarchic. While other bands were creating music that was abrasive and badly recorded, The Adicts opted for clearer production without sacrificing any of punk’s youthful energy.

That isn’t to say that Songs of Praise ignores political issues. The sense of social instability and class war in early ’80s Britain is reflected in tracks like album opener England. The first line paints a clear message, “I hate this war, can’t take any more”. But Mel ‘Spider’ Ellis’ bouncy bass lines and Pete ‘Pete Dee’ Davison’s playful guitar riffs pull a softer punch than the lyrics suggest. The uplifting delivery of the is as unexpected as their stage costumes. Similarly, the album’s stand out track and The Adicts most revered gift to music, Viva La Revolution, is a call to arms delivered with a grin."  - Laurent Baranard, Louder website

1 England
2 Hurt
3 Just Like Me
4 Tango
5 Telepathic People
6 Mary Whitehouse
7 Distortion
8 Get Adicted
9 Viva La Revolution
10 Calling Calling
11 In The Background
12 Dynasty
13 Peculiar Music
14 Numbers
15 Sensitive
16 Songs Of Praise