GRIMPLE – Up Your Ass

Regular price $18.00


Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

"A well-deserved and long overdue reissue for an essential piece of early 1990s East Bay (by way of New Mexico) punk. You hear the term “melodic hardcore” refer to drivel that is neither, but GRIMPLE is undoubtedly both. The riffs are hopelessly addictive, but they are delivered with relentless ferocity while you find yourself singing along with vocals that sound like they are coughing up razor blades. The lyrics are honest and often dark, but the whole record is bursting with hope, determination and youthful possibility—“Behind a locked door I’m not trapped, I don’t want out / To put things in their places, I put myself here,” followed immediately by “I don’t see it so it isn’t there, the real truth is that I don’t fucking care / I close my eyes it’s an easy choice, fuk that bullshit, I want a voice!”  Songs like “Violent Fuk” and “Problem” are uncompromising and full of fire, while “Think” throws dark chords under the rest of the mix and makes you feel queasy (when you listen at the appropriate volume). “But If You Weren’t Here” is an anthem for literally any punk who grew up (mostly) alone and exemplifies how tight GRIMPLE was as a band and a unit. Drop the needle on Up Your Ass and you can just feel that it was them against the fucking world…my only complaint is that it’s weird to hear these songs with out the pops and scuffs and crackles I’ve been adding to my copy for the last 30 years. I can fix that, though"

- Robert Collins, MRR

A1 Vivisick
A2 Think
A3 All Grown Up
A4 I'm Not Gonna Stop
A5 Bushanomics
A6 Walls Of Shit
A7 Energy
A8 Please Come In
B1 A Fucked Up Beautiful Day
B2 Problem
B3 Violent Fuk
B4 But If You Weren't Here
B5 Could've Been
B6 Blood Gutter
B7 Grimple Up Your Ass